Let the training begin ….

So you need to be VERY fit in order to serve as a Soldier. I’m not very fit, I will be honest, but want to use my blog as a diary of my fitness.

Today I started my training, mainly concentrating on running at the moment as I need to run 1.5 miles in under 14 minutes. Ideally i want to bring my time to under 10 minutes, meaning I’ll hopefully be fitter than what is to be expected.

Having never ran for a sustained period I’m approaching the running by taking 15 minute stints each morning.

Today I started with an assessment workout using miCoach running app on my phone.

Alongside the website it provides it keeps a log of progress and gives you a map of your route using your GPS location. It’s pretty cool for a free app ;)

So tomorrow morning I am starting my 7 week Initial Steps workout – which builds me up slowly to do a 20 minute run at the end of the plan.

After this I’ll then re-evaluate and start the next stage of training.

More progress to follow soon …

Leave a Reply

